Self-Published Saturday: I Am Jess

Self-Published Saturday is my effort to help Independent/Self-Published authors promote their books. Self-Published authors have to do it all, from editing to cover design to marketing, and if I can help even a little bit with the marketing side of things I’m happy to do it. I also ask you all to help out too by sharing these posts on social media. This next review is a heartbreaking but honest memoir by Jess Fahl that tells the truth about her abusive marriage and how she finally escaped it.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

I AM JESS By Jessica Fahl

“I kept all of our secrets, avoiding people and situations where I might have to explain his behavior; I just didn’t realize I had done it. I had completely isolated myself and allowed him to create my reality. The embarrassment and shame were too much, but somehow, those feelings went away easily if I didn’t acknowledge them out loud. They could be washed away as if he didn’t really mean it that way or that I was reading too much into things, as he often told me.

I Am Jess is my story about falling in love with a man I thought loved me, only to find out I’d been emotionally manipulated for years. It’s about realizing afterward that I’d been completely isolated from the truth, not knowing what it meant to be loved. Once the fog began to clear, I found happiness in myself and had a life I was proud to call my own.”

BOOK REVIEW

This is a powerful memoir from Jessica Fahl that will break your heart. Jess is bluntly honest about her first marriage and the mental and emotional abuse that she endured. She reminds us that that are people who will break others down, hurt them continually, and at the same time convince them it is all their own fault. She outlines a marriage that was never a true union of two people in love, and tells us how, over many years, she finally began to realize that.

This realization and the way she broke free of her former husband’s verbal abuse, infidelity, and gaslighting behavior create an important story that will help many others out there. It is written in an honest and straightforward way, and no hurts or betrayals are left hidden. I would recommend I Am Jess to everyone, because even if you haven’t been in an abusive relationship, you probably know someone who has, and they might benefit from this book.

I downloaded this book on Kindle Unlimited, where subscribers can read it for free.

BUY LINKS

AMAZON US

AMAZON UK

*If you buy the book(s), please leave reviews on Amazon and Goodreads, as well as anywhere else you review books.  Some people feel very daunted by writing a review. Don’t worry. You do not have to write a masterpiece. Just a couple of lines about how the book made you feel will make the author’s day and help the book succeed. The more reviews a book has, the more Amazon will promote it.

*Please click on the “share” buttons below and share these books with your Twitter, Facebook, and WordPress followers. A little bit of help from all of us will help self-published authors go a long way!

Blog Tour and Book Review: When We Were Sisters

*Book Review at the bottom of the page

BOOK DESCRIPTION

Two sisters who haven’t spoken for twenty years. One summer to bring a family back together.

Jayne Winters hasn’t seen her sister Charlotte since that last childhood holiday at their grandmother’s North Carolina beach house. Separated after that summer by their parents in a bitter divorce, Charlotte has never forgiven Jayne for not fighting to stay together.

So when Jayne discovers that they have both inherited the beach house, and that their grandmother’s last wish was for them to renovate it together, it feels like a miracle: one last chance to win her sister back.

At first Charlotte will barely speak to her. But slowly the memories of swimming races and storytelling in their attic bedroom looking over the sea start to break down the wall between them. With the help of photographs and letters left by their grandmother for them to find, the two women begin to restore not just the creaking mahogany staircase and the faded antique wallpaper, but their own relationship.

But then Jayne discovers that Charlotte has kept a heart-stopping secret from their past from her. Can she find it in her heart to forgive her sister and keep their grandmother’s dream of reuniting them alive—or are some wounds too big to heal?

An emotional and uplifting read about sisters, secrets and the family bonds that hold us together no matter how complicated they are, from the bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper. Fans of Mary Ellen Taylor, Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe will love this.

BUY LINKS:

Amazon

Apple

Kobo

Google

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Cynthia Ellingsen is an Amazon Charts bestselling author of contemporary women’s fiction. Her books feature heartwarming characters and strong family connections, often with a touch of mystery. The Starlight Cove series, her best-known work, is available on audio and has been translated into several languages.

Cynthia began her writing career as a screenwriter in Los Angeles and now lives in Kentucky with her family.

Contact Cynthia on Social Media: Website Facebook Instagram Twitter

BOOK REVIEW

Brought back together by their Grandmother’s will and last wishes, sisters Charlotte and Jayne, separated by divorcing parents when they were young, reunite to renovate her old beach house. As paint is chipped away and walls torn down, so are feelings and barriers, as they confront long-held secrets and memories. Their grandmother has hidden letters and remembrances throughout the house. Will her dying wish and carefully planned treasure hunt bring them back together?

This is a sweet summer read about sisters, secrets, and the importance of loved ones. The story flowed so well I read it in one sitting. It is a story of two sisters who have endured separation, rejection, and loss due to the actions of their parents. This novel emphasizes the importance of family, with all its complications and flaws. Full of heartbreak and secrets, but also love and hope, When We Were Sisters shows us how the strings that bind us with our loved ones are still present, even across time and distance.

Four and a half stars, rounded up to five on sites without a half-star option.

I received a free copy of this book from Bookouture via Netgalley. My review is voluntary.