Book Blogger Hop

The Book Blogger Hop was originally created by Jennifer @ Crazy-For-Books in March 2010 and ended on December 31, 2012. With Jennifer’s permission, Billy @ Ramblings of a Coffee Addicted Writer relaunched the hop on February 15, 2013. Each week the hop will start on a Friday and end the following Thursday. There will be a weekly prompt featuring a book-related question. The hop’s purpose is to give bloggers a chance to follow other blogs, learn about new books, befriend other bloggers, and receive new followers to their own blog. See the latest question below.

Submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews.

This is going to be a much longer answer than anyone probably expected. I do love audiobooks for a few reasons.

Audiobooks for the win:

1. I often prefer listening instead of reading because I do a lot of driving and audiobooks help pass the time, and they help me keep up with my reviews, especially now that Netgalley has audiobooks.

2. I have noticed that when I read a book and then later listen to the audiobook, I always notice something on the audiobook that I missed during the reading. This tells me I concentrate better with audiobooks than with regular reading.

3. The biggest reason why I love audiobooks even more now is because I have a hearing loss that this significant enough that I have to wear hearing aids and use captions on the tv (and can hardly ever hear high-pitched noises). The advent of bluetooth hearing aids has made audiobooks an even better experience because the book is “piped” right into my ears, I hear the book in my head, and I feel I experience it now more than ever.

Audiobook tip: Some narrators are just a bit slower. If I find a narrator is too slow for me, I up the speed to 1.5. That speeds the narrator up and lessens the listening time for the book.

What about you? Do you listen to audiobooks?

25 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop”

      1. Yes, I’m planning to record an audio book of short stories. I listen to podcasts when I’m doing other things (housework, yardwork, etc.), but I tend to get distracted. When I read a book, I want to give it my full attention. I’ve just realized recently how popular audiobooks have become.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love all of your reasons, but especially number 2! I feel like each narrator really brings out new aspects of the book they’re reading. I noticed this because I accidentally got two different audiobooks of the same book, which was already a favourite of mine, and now I love both versions for different reasons. I hope you have a lovely weekend 🙂
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s cool about the hearing aids and being able to listen to audio books through them. Now, car trips is one place where I have had some success listening to books. I can never fall sleep in a car, so I’m a captive audience. We don’t go on as many car trips as we used too though and work is only minutes away.

    Like

  3. I’m the other way when it comes to picking up detail in a book. Going from audio to physical book I pick up on details that I miss from listening to the audio.

    Like

  4. My first audiobook was Harry Potter (cassette tapes!) I had a long, boring commute and it helped tremendously. I don’t listen to as many audiobooks as I used to, mainly because I don’t drive by myself much anymore now that I’m retired. But, for driving, mowing the lawn, and walking, they are terrific.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wish I enjoyed audiobooks, they would make the daily commute so much better, but I find myself distracted from them. I’m definitely a visual learner rather than an auditory one!

    Like

  6. Yes, I love audiobooks. I got into them when I had vision issues (cataracts) and even after my surgery, continued to listen to them. I rarely listen at normal speed. 1.5 is the one I use the most, but love when I can choose the speed, such as 1.4 if necessary. I love your reasoning, Bonnie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Almost 40 years ago I had a job at a press clipping service up in Northern Maine. My job was to watch media (tv news and talk shows) and type up what they said about different products for our clients. And we had to watch tv at double speed. So I can get used to that speed on audiobooks if I need to.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment